Skip to main content
Home >> Welcome Message

Welcome Message

Photo of Ms Priscilla WONG Pui Sze, BBS, JP Chairperson, Minimum Wage Commission

In accordance with the Minimum Wage Ordinance (Cap.608 of the Laws of Hong Kong), the Minimum Wage Commission is tasked with the important function of, when required by the Chief Executive (CE) to do so, reporting to CE in Council its recommendation about the Statutory Minimum Wage (SMW) rate.

SMW impacts on various aspects including the society, economy and labour market in Hong Kong. In performing its function, the Commission must have regard to the need to maintain an appropriate balance between forestalling excessively low wages and minimising the loss of low-paid jobs, and the need to sustain Hong Kong’s economic growth and competitiveness.

Since the implementation of SMW in 2011 and the three upratings of SMW in 2013, 2015 and 2017, the macroeconomic conditions and the overall labour market of Hong Kong have been largely stable; the income of lower-paid employees has improved in real terms; and more people have been attracted to enter or re-enter the employment market. These achievements squarely re-affirmed the contribution and positive value of SMW. A further revised rate of $37.5 per hour takes effect from 1 May 2019.

The Commission comprises members from the labour sector, the business community, academia and Government with diverse professional expertise and experience. With the support, commitment and enthusiastic contributions of all members of the Commission, I am confident that the Commission will continue to achieve its mission of reporting to CE in Council its recommendation about the SMW rate dutifully.

You are most welcome to visit the Commission’s webpage to learn more about our work.


Priscilla WONG, BBS, JP
Chairperson
Minimum Wage Commission

Back to Top

跳至主要内容
主页 >> 欢迎辞

欢迎辞

最低工资委员会 主席王沛诗女士,铜紫荆星章,太平绅士的相片

根据《最低工资条例》(香港法例第608章),最低工资委员会(委员会)肩负应行政长官的要求,向行政长官会同行政会议建议法定最低工资水平的重任。

法定最低工资水平对香港社会、经济及劳工市场各方面均有影响。委员会在执行职能时,须要在防止工资过低与尽量减少低薪职位流失的目标之间,取得适当平衡,并要顾及维持香港经济发展及竞争力的需要。

自法定最低工资于2011年实施及在2013年、2015年及2017年三次的调升以来,香港宏观经济及劳工市场大致稳定,较低薪的雇员的收入持续得到改善,亦吸引了更多人投入或重投劳工市场。这些成果充分肯定法定最低工资的贡献和价值。经修订的法定最低工资水平(每小时37.5元)由2019年5月1日起生效。

委员会的成员来自劳工界、商界、学术界及政府,拥有不同的专业知识和经验。我相信透过委员会全体成员的支持、努力和积极投入,委员会定能继续妥善地履行其职责,就法定最低工资水平向行政长官会同行政会议作出建议。

欢迎你浏览委员会的网站,以进一步了解我们的工作。


最低工资委员会主席
王沛诗,铜紫荆星章,太平绅士

页首